Amethyst

The ancient Greeks used Amethyst as a talisman to protect them from getting inebriated. Therefore the name is derived from the Greek "amethystos" = sober (not drunk). 

Amethyst is one of the oldest traditional gemstones, as early as 3100 B.C. the Egyptians wore it as jewellery. In medieval times it decorated the crowns of kings and the rings of popes.

Amethyst is the best-known representative of the quartz family. It is found in many variations of shades from palest rosy purple to deep and brilliant bluish purple. It occurs grown on bases. The economically most important occurrences in druses are in Brazil, Uruguay and Madagascar.

A lot of experience is needed in order to properly work on amethyst crystals since the colour inside the raw material is not evenly distributed, but rather occurs in more or less intensively coloured spots.

However, it is possible to get inspired in many ways by the “royal” but nevertheless affordable gemstone in the House of Wolfgang Wagner, especially by means of the attractive qualities and brilliant variations of cuts.
Wolfgang Wagner - Edelsteinschleiferei
Grosse Trenk 13 - 55743 Idar-Oberstein
Telefon ++49 67 81 / 4 69 66 - Telefax ++49 67 81 / 4 29 53
Mail: wagner@farbedelsteine.de

Amethyst

Die alten Griechen benutzten den Amethyst als Talisman zum Schutz vor Trunkenheit. Daher leitet sich sein Name von dem griechischen Wort "amethystos" = nüchtern (nicht betrunken) ab.

Der Amethyst ist einer der ältesten bekannten Edelsteine, schon 3100 v. Chr. wurde er als Schmuck von der Ägyptern getragen. Im Mittelalter schmückte er Königskronen und Papstringe.

Amethyst ist der bekannteste Stein aus der Gruppe der Quarze. Man findet ihn in den verschiedensten Farbnuancen, vom blassen Rosaviolett- bis zum tiefen aber trotzdem leuchtenden Violett-Ton und er ist stets auf Unterlagen aufgewachsen. Die wirtschaftlich bedeutendsten Vorkommen in Drusen sind in Brasilien, Uruguay und Madagaskar.

Um Amethyst-Kristalle richtig zu bearbeiten ist viel Erfahrung nötig, da die Farbe innerhalb des Rohmaterials nicht gleichmäßig verteilt ist, sondern nur in mehr oder weniger intensiven Farbflecken auftritt.

Dennoch kann man sich im Hause Wolfgang Wagner von dem "königlichen", aber trotz allem erschwinglichen Edelstein in vielfältiger Art und Weise inspirieren lassen, besonders durch attraktive Qualitäten und brillante Schliffvariationen.

Wolfgang Wagner - Edelsteinschleiferei
Grosse Trenk 13 - 55743 Idar-Oberstein
Telefon 0 67 81 / 4 69 66 - Telefax 0 67 81 / 4 29 53
Mail: wagner@farbedelsteine.de